tech specs

country of origin: India, year: 2021

languages spoken: Hindi

duration: 23:53, format: Digital Stereo, DCP 5.1

aspect ratio: 16:9 (the film though is a mix of 2:1 horizontal and 9:16 vertical aspect ratio)


'CHEEPATAKADUMPA' is a black comedy film directed and produced by Devashish Makhija.

It’s outlandish, freewheeling script was improvised over many weeks of rehearsals with the

film’s actors (all hailing from India’s National School of Drama), drawing from their

personal challenges of growing up as women in patriarchal small town India.



‘CHEEPATAKADUMPA’ follows three women over less than a day as they awaken their naughty teenage alter egos when they meet again after years, unleashing mischief on each other, and in turn on the biased patriarchal belief systems of the world they were born into. In a masculine culture that is unduly serious about making the rules that women are expected to live by, Teja, Santo and Tamanna find true and happy rebellion in the gasping throes of this mischief.

'cheepatakadumpa': a director's note

At the heart of ‘CHEEPATAKADUMPA’ is a smirk of mischief.

Independent minded Tejaswini (a.k.a. Teja) rides a mechanical bull and secretly orgasms.

Flower child Santosh (a.k.a. Santo)  tries to score some secret full moon sex with a married man.

Santosh and Tejaswini take direly deprived Tamanna to the brink of a self-helped orgasm.

And then tickle and tease her until she reaches the doors of defiance… and starts to knock on it.


Journeying from fettered dusk to uncaged dawn, this film seeks to question the status quo of women in a small town India rife with patriarchy, by observing their inner lightness take wing. And celebrating it with their shy smiles, their naughty snickers, their uncontrollable giggles, and our laughter.



bhumika dube, ipshita chakraborty singh, annapurna soni, bishna chouhan


directed by devashish makhija


written by devashish makhija, bhumika dube, ipshita chakraborty singh


produced by devashish makhija, sumeet kamath, sreeram ramanathan


co-producers jugaad motion pictures, bhumika dube,

shamim khan, shikha jain, saurabh garg, ravi kumar

cinematography rohin raveendran nair

sound design vinit d’souza music director mangesh dhakde

production design & sfx shamim khan casting director bhumika dube

edited by devashish makhija, ronak singh

costume & make-up anita chakravadhanula, saras kumar namdeo, bhumika dube

associate producers dar gai, dheer momaya, sampat singh rathore, bhoomika theatre group

executive producer shweta vora line producer makhijafilm


associate director kunal mitra first assistant director ronak singh


assistant directors

anunay sinha, anita chakravadhanula, saras kumar namdeo,

shounak majumdar, aman vishera

art associate anunay sinha art assistant chhaya arman pandit

first ac roshan antony, ryan rozario second ac shounak majumdar

chief financial accountant shalini hirani post associate ronak singh


edit & post ronak singh, devashish makhija camera  aman vishera

sound design dibakar saha sound mixing  anindit roy colorist  dilshad nanji

stills vivekanand dakhore, aman vishera

poster design ronak singh, devashish makhija

website ronak singh festival distributor rishi chandna, kunal mitra

behind the scenes aman vishera, kunal mitra

press & publicity shillpi a singh

subtitles devashish makhija


sound edit & mix facility auralmayhem studios

sound supervising editor vinit d’souza 

re recording, mixer souvik phukan sound editor & pre mix engineer jithin jose

additional sounds effects editor vineeth raveendran studio boy ravindra yadav


sound recordist anurag jadhao location sound assistant sandip sarkar


foley recording studio soundtrack entertainment

foley artist manoj yadav foley assistant bicky limbu

foley recordist hiru paban foley editor manoj yadav


post production studio coolab

post producer sreeram ramanathan post prod. supervisor ashish heblekar

colorist dilshad nanji assistant colorist rahul verma vfx kuldeep mehta


data managment & workflow telecartel

workflow consultants sumeet kamath, sreeram ramanathan data wrangler mangesh patil

production controller aashirvad jha, uddesh yadav

production team

rehmaan shaikh, nishchay dube, khalid khan, anand yadav,  vishal singh yadav,

lucky raghuwanshi, sachin jatt, anju chandravanshi, priyanshu maina